Just got back to the hotel after a very long day. Left the hotel at 7 am and it’s now 8:30 pm. It started off with me going to the central bus station and buying a one month bus pass. The girl at the counter was cute and she gave me a discount – only $96 euro. Whereas my roommates paid $140 euro. Sweet deal, eh? Well maybe not. But I’ll save that for later.

Once I got to the AppCampus building I was thoroughly impressed. We’re the first group to use their new space. It was like walking into a HUGE Ikea showroom. What am I saying, this whole city is like a huge Ikea showroom.

AppCampus HQ

AppCampus HQ

Basically their space is set up for coding… lots and lots of coding. There is a kitchen with plenty of coffee. Programmer jokes on the fridge. Open work stations. The required foosball table. And my favorite, plenty of whiteboards.

Shared work areas. Quiet or noisy, whichever you prefer.

Shared work areas. Quiet or noisy, whichever you prefer.

I’ve heard of “quiet rooms” and such in corporate offices. But this is something totally unique. Little cabins… inside the office… where you can lock yourself in, take a nap, or enjoy some uninterrupted quiet.

Quiet Cabins

Quiet Cabins

Then they also have these adult sized bean bag chairs. Very comfy indeed. Its a wonder any work gets done around here. But lots and lots of work gets done.

Bean Bag Chairs

Bean Bag Chairs

Most of today we sat in workshops. Today was delivering a “pitch”. At Laubacher Multimedia I did hundreds of pitches to potential customers, partners, etc. But pitching Timmo’s Challenge is very different. For one, I hadn’t thought about pitching it at all. I mean, who would I pitch it to? Investors? No, it’s too early. Partners? No, not going down that road again. But then it occurred to me that I can’t really make this really big by myself. I need contacts. People that can help me promote it, or include some cool feature, or sell it to sponsors. So pitching all of a sudden became a very important topic.

Most of the day spent in here

Most of the day spent in here

So after a very brief intro about how to do a good pitch they spring it on us that we need to each get up and pitch to the entire room of like 30 people. They ask for volunteers so I said I’d go first. I’m use to speaking in front of groups. And there were lots of developers who were not. So I figured I could do a descent job and/or be an example. Turns out I was the example. I stumbled and fumbled through the pitch and couldn’t really explain what the app did. People were looking at me with blank stares.

I turned it around with some humor and they did make a good example about the fact that if you’re not prepared to do a quick pitch then you probably will end up sounding like a fool.

We had some time to work on our apps a bit, then we headed to part 2 of the day… a networking session called Mobile Monday. Oh – getting around by bus is pretty easy and straight forward. If you have the right pass. I go to get on the buss with all 30 people from the group, I’m the last one to get on the bus, which is now PACKED, and my monthly pass isn’t working. Turns out that “good deal” was for a pass only within Helsinki itself, not to the campus which is in Espoo.

Waiting for the bus in the snow

Waiting for the bus in the snow

 

I’m so tired that I may actually sleep tonight. So it’s goodnight for now.

 

 

 

 

 

