Today was a really great day at AppCampus. They had us really narrow down who our target market is by creating “mood boards” which are basically cut out pictures of our target user. What they look like, what they drive, where they live, what they eat, etc. I’m not yet totally ready to share what I’ve learned about my own app and brand. But soon.

Tomorrow I have a 1-on-1 working session with two professional designers. And by professional, I mean of the highest level. For example one of the guys was on the design team for Nokia’s own brand, which is on over 2 billion devices. A couple other guys work for Fjord, whose clients include the NFL and Citibank. So we’re working with some really heavy hitters to help us create REAL, strong brands. I’m wicked excited to see how they will help Timmo’s Challenge.

This has been standard fare so far though. We had a talk this afternoon by one of the guys that worked on the actual Windows Phone design. He gave us a really interesting talk about modern design and how Microsoft, Apple and Android are all moving in that direction – Microsoft leading the way.

So you probably want some pictures. I won’t disappoint. Today – signs. It is a really strange feeling to not be able to read signs. It’s like – everything seems normal, but you just can’t understand what words mean. Here is an example. Looks like an important company or something. But look at how many letters are in it!

Just try to pronounce it...

Just try to pronounce it…

Food has been the biggest problem. You’ll see some English. Like a restaurant called “Sky Express”. But then you don’t know what they heck you’re buying. Especially ingredients. Although everyone is nice and will help you in English if you ask in English.

The 12 euro one is the pizza with the huge beer!

The 12 euro one is the pizza with the huge beer!

I just had to include this one. I bet Rob would of ordered this just because of the name, whether he was hungry or not.

The El Macho Jr.!

The El Macho Jr.!

You may have never heard this before, but Helsinki is second only to Tokyo for karaoke. They are everywhere and there is always someone singing in them.

Wanna Swengi?!

Wanna Swengi?!

At least half of the street signs had red circles with slashes. Not sure what I’m not suppose to be doing, but I’m not doing it.

Just don't

Just don’t

I have no idea what this store sells, but their manikins are wearing black plastic bags and carrying a yellow plastic bag. Cheap plastic clothing?

What the?!

What the?!

And to end the evening I found these at the local convenient store. These things are AMAZING! Even better than they look!

Orange + chocolate + cookie = awesome!

Orange + chocolate + cookie = awesome!

I’m not sure how I am still awake. I am so tired, and my brain is thinking about so much, that I could literally fall asleep standing up within a  minute.

So I’ll try and get another bl

