Today was either the best day here at AppCadamey so far or the worst. I haven’t decided yet.

It started off okay. I got in early, got  coffee and found a cozy spot to work for the day. I made great progress piecing together my Manhattan steps.

Great work cubes

Great work cubes

Today was the day I was to work with 4 branding and design experts 1-on-1 and get feedback on my app. My first coach was Pauliina, an expert on brands. She was a speaker yesterday and a group of us had lunch with her. She has a great outlook and personality.

Her task for me was to come up with my personal mission statement. Why am I doing what I’m doing. I went from “just because” to “to make a game to get people outdoors and active” to “to make people healthier and to appreciate their surroundings” to “to make people’s lives more enjoyable”. This was after much tooth pulling on her part. I hadn’t thought about it that way, but she explained I needed to in order to understand the emotion behind the brand. The emotion that would make someone want to buy my app.

Her homework for me was to come up with my “unique value proposition”. Me personally. What makes me unique and why would someone want to buy this from me versus someone else. I sense more tooth pulling. I have no clue right now.

So back to working on Manhattan. Sitting in  my cube and looking the steps I have captured in New York.

Manhattan is going to rock!

Manhattan is going to rock!

I went through my steps, put them in order, adjusted the scoring, made the clue wording better. I was on a roll! Manhattan IS going to be awesome. This is unlike anything anyone has done before.

My next coach was an actual game designer. I demo’d my app for him and he started asking me about how he could create his own versions. He liked the app, but he was concerned that it would be hard to scale and get out in a lot of places easily and without spending a fortune. So he thought my business proposition needs to be in selling the platform. Use Timmo’s Challenge to prove the concept and then sell the platform to other people to build their own versions.

The last session was with two designers and was for two hours. This is what I was looking forward to. It was billed as a session where they would really push our app forward a great deal. It was scheduled from 3 to 5. It didn’t last that long…

I demo’d the app for them. They didn’t seem impressed and didn’t have much to say other than it was a bit too minimalistic. They started asking questions that made me see that they just didn’t “get it”. This went on for an hour. Me trying to explain why they would want to play it. They thought if it were for fitness than they wouldn’t want to do the clues. If it was a puzzle than they wouldn’t want to do any running. They didn’t get it was what you wanted to use it for.

At 4:30 we gave up. I packed up my stuff and was the first to leave the building for the day. I went back to my room, laid down, and passed out. I couldn’t top thinking that if they didn’t get it then neither would lots of other people. And maybe my friends and family had been too kind.

I woke up an hour later and went for a walk. I needed some inspiration. Something to help me figure out how to explain what this app is in a way people would understand. Luckily, Helsinki has plenty of things to look at and inspire.

Looking for inspiration

Looking for inspiration

I didn’t really find the answer on my walk. But I did find a Mexican restaurant, which cheered me up! And I found this cool thing. it was made of these really beautiful wood slices. The picture doesn’t do it justice.

More inspiration

More inspiration

Well that’s all I have in me tonight. Hopefully tomorrow things will be a bit clearer.

Chow chow!

PS – I just brought my laundry to get washed. 21 euro for a grocery bag of laundry!!! Holy rip off.

