Today I had an awesome time working on Level 1 of Timmo’s Challenge – Helsinki! I got an entire level done and the app built. So tomorrow I can go out and get 2 or 3 more levels built and I should be good for testing this week.

Svenska Teaterun - Swedish speaking theater

Svenska Teaterun – Swedish speaking theater

I finally got to see open water! Well almost… There was a thin layer of ice, but this area seemed to be ice-broken.

See the cruise ship?

See the cruise ship?

This one was actually a lot bigger than it looks in the photo. It was bigger than the buildings next to it.

There was even a ferry running, and it was quite busy. I translated the destination and it said “Finnish Castle”. I’ll have to look at where that goes!

Finnish Castle Ferry

Finnish Castle Ferry

Then the site seeing really got interesting. I walked a few blocks to this Cathedral because it looked really cool from a distance. But it looked even better up close. I would have loved to see the inside.

Orthodox Cathedral

Orthodox Cathedral

Down the street from this one was another Cathedral that was just as spectacular. This one is a Lutheran Cathedral. Note the kids on the steps butt sliding down them. Its a lot easier when they are smoothed out by the snow.

Helsinki Lutheran Cathedral

Helsinki Lutheran Cathedral

I started wandering around the streets in this area. There were all kinds of little nooks and crannies that were interesting. I wish I had more time just for photos alone. Jess would be in seventh heaven here!

Gates and old buildings

Gates and old buildings

The sea is still frozen in most areas. I found one area where I could walk out onto the ice and right up to boats that were still in the clutches on old man winter.

Frozen boats

Frozen boats

They were going to use ball and chain, but they couldn’t get a permit.

Bridge of Love

Bridge of Love

It was pretty cold out. Probably around 20 degrees. So I stopped and had a cappuccino and “apple pie”. It was even better than it looks.

A nice break

A nice break

After warming up a bit, strolling through the streets was even nicer when it got dark. The city seems to come to life even more at night. Or at least Saturday night.

Street after street lit up nicely

Street after street lit up nicely

Dinner was a “Deer Rogue”. It was beyond good. Linguini in a cheese sauce with hot jam on the side. Yeah, jam. Boysenberry or maybe loganberry. It was outstanding.

Deer Rogue

Deer Rogue

 

Well that’s it for today. Sorry for all the photos. But they tell it all.

Chow.

