One of the key points of my business model is that my cost to create a new app will be lower than the money I make from selling it. Basic business concept, right?

My secret weapon for keeping the costs down is a separate app dubbed “Capture” where I can visit some place and create a new adventure on the fly as I’m enjoying it myself. So I set out this past weekend to do just that here in Helsinki. I got one level done Saturday. And then yesterday I got two more levels done. It was a pretty crisp and cold day, or I would probably have been able to do another one!

The Zamboni on one of the many ice rinks in the city

The Zamboni on one of the many ice rinks in the city

Helsinki has so many great places to see. The tricky part, for me, was creating clues that were difficult enough, but still doable.

I set off for the waterfront again and was treated with finding even more interesting sites that I found last week. I found some docks that have cruises. It must be fantastic to be here in the summer with all of the boats. It kind of reminded me of Greenport. I can imagine taking the boat here for the day and enjoying some drinks with friends before heading back.

Helsinki Cruises

Helsinki Cruises

There is a really cool park near the waterfront too, which has a nice hill you can climb and get an amazing view of the water on one side and the city on the other. Yesterday there were lots of kids sledding. I had to respect them too. It wasn’t just a smooth little hill like we have back home. They were sledding through trees and off little cliffs!

And I saw something extra cool… An actual one horse open sleigh… And yeah, it had jingle bells on it.

Dashing through the snow...

Dashing through the snow…

Here it is jingling away…

A couple more photos of yesterday’s journey…

The buildings continue to impress

The buildings continue to impress

 

Camping? No camping? I can't figure it out. Maybe no teepees?

Camping? No camping? I can’t figure it out. Maybe no teepees?

 

I got a much closer look at the cruise ship

I got a much closer look at the cruise ship

 

So anyway… I was able to complete three full levels over the weekend and I have a full app ready to go. And, if I may say so myself, its pretty darn cool!

 

Which led into this morning…

So this morning I met with my designer coach again. With the weekend under my belt I was able to more clearly see that Timmo’s Challenge is just one type of puzzle trek that I could create. I could do a series that was more for history buffs or one that was more rural than city. We drew out a hierarchy where “Puzzle Trek” was the company and main platform. And under it was different versions of puzzle treks (lowercase). I could define this as a new activity and be first to market with something unique. While still owning the platform for creating them.

That has my brain going again. Which is good, because I walked for hours this weekend and I appreciate a day working in the office.

 

