I heard a guy once say that he falls in love with every woman he meets. Some times for 10 minutes. Some times for 10 years.

Well I fall in love with places. I’m not sure why. But when I visit a new place I really like to get to know it. And the more I uncover the more I usually love it.

New York has done that to me. There is an energy there that is hard to explain, and impossible to duplicate anywhere else.

I’ve fallen in love with Shelter Island too. Nothing but good memories of the place. Including one of the best weekends of my life last year with Deb followed a couple weeks later with a great bike trip there with the guys.

I’ve fallen in love with Seattle, San Fran, Denali National Park, and even Bolivar Missouri. They all have their unique beauty shown in the landscape, culture, and in the people.

But I’ve really fallen head over heals for Helsinki. Another day of exploring today and a dozen more reasons to love Helsinki. I’ll try to describe it with photos.

The metal balls dot the harbor area

The metal balls dot the harbor area

Only serious mariners go out with this much ice. And yeah, they were out.

Only serious mariners go out with this much ice. And yeah, they were out.

This huge vessel is at a port for the oil company

This huge vessel is at a port for the oil company

 

This canal is surrounded by sleak apartment buildings. There were parts of docks still connected, so I assume you can boat here.

This canal is surrounded by sleek apartment buildings. There were parts of docks still connected, so I assume you can boat here.

 

This restaurant had quite a few moorings outside. I can only imagine what it's like in the summer.

This restaurant had quite a few moorings outside. I can only imagine what it’s like in the summer.

 

I can't include all of the photos of these buildings. But they were really unique.

I can’t include all of the photos of these buildings. But they were really unique.

Really cool angles, spiral staircases mixed in with sharp angles of glass and steel. And, out front dozens of moorings. (See next photo) I can’t figure out what the glass blocks are in the next pictures. But you could only access them from the private marina entrance on the other side of the fence.

Protected basin

Protected basin

 

 

Ha! They but a Darth Vador helmet on him and gave him a light saber

Ha! They but a Darth Vader helmet on him and gave him a light saber

 

Yeah right - they said boats will start getting put in the wtaer in two weeks.

Yeah right – they said boats will start getting put in the water in two weeks. But the place was busy!

You know I had to go in here...

You know I had to go in here…

Most of the apartments have glassed in porches. But these were just the coolest.

Most of the apartments have glassed in porches. But these were just the coolest.

 

And right across the street from the fancy apartment was a wooded park with hundreds of these little cabins!

And right across the street from the fancy apartment was a wooded park with hundreds of these little cabins!

Lots of people out enjoying the frozen sea.

Lots of people out enjoying the frozen sea.

They keep their parks very clean and the trails groomed

They keep their parks very clean and the trails groomed

 

The beach

The beach

 

Even when it is frozen the sea attracts lots of people. Something about it… the openness and the calmness.

I sat on this stone bench looking out over the sea for over an hour. Hundreds of people passed by. Some walking their dogs. Some pulling their kids in a sled. Some cross country skiing.

Spring is in the air in Helsinki. And I’m in love.

 

