Well today is my last Sunday in Helsinki. It seems that Sunday has been my best day each week. Lots of walking around, good weather, good food, etc. Today was no exception.

I’ve got tons of photos, so I’ll just kick it off…

Parliament Building

Parliament Building

Level 4 (which may now be level 3) started off with a tour of the official buildings on one of the main streets in Helsinki. The Parliament building was especially interesting. The clues for this one are going to be pretty hard to find. 🙂

Overlooking the Olympic Stadium

Overlooking the Olympic Stadium

There are miles and miles of parks in Helsinki. I followed one part and saw the hill. I climbed it to get a better look of what was around and whammo… the Olympic Stadium. Pretty awesome!

Rose Garden

Rose Garden

On the way around to the front of the stadium I found this really cool rose garden. The building was really interesting. I bet in the summer it is even better to visit.

Football

Football

On the other side of the stadium there were several soccer fields (football here) and there was some sort of tournament going on because there were lots of matches going on. Note the girl in the lower right… carrying cross country skies. You see that all over the place here because there is so much snow everywhere that people ski from place to place.

Another semi-outdoor arena

Another semi-outdoor arena

Then there was one of the highlights of the day… The Olympic Tower. The picture doesn’t do it justice.

 

Olympic Tower

Olympic Tower – 1952 Olympics

There are plenty of naked lady statues in Helsinki – if that’s your thing. This one seems to have a fascination with seagulls. Seems kind of weird to me. So I took a picture of it of course.

Whatever floats your gull

Whatever floats your gull

Then came the real highlight of the day. The Sibelius monument. I loved this thing so much it deserves several photos. Its really a lot larger than it looks. (That’s what she said)

Sibelius 1

Sibelius 1

Sibelius 3

Sibelius 2

Sibelius 3

Sibelius 3

Artists signature

Artists signature

This is what the texture looks like up close

This is what the texture looks like up close

Sibelius

Sibelius

Nearby there was an AWESOME little café. It was right on the shore. Besides selling coffee you could have a campfire and cook assorted meat products on a stick. Smelled spectacular, but the place was busy and I was on a mission so I couldn’t partake.

Yum

Yum

 

Small place, big line. Must be good.

Small place, big line. Must be good.

Its hard to see… but here is the hot dog cookery. I wish I could insert smells into this post. :o)

Smoking hot

Smoking hot

 

Apartments on the water

Apartments on the water

The apartments on the water are awesome looking. These all look out over the sea. I took the photo from basically the docks on the other side of the road.

Ok, time for pizza and beer with the gang. Probably our last beer drinking shin dig of the trip.

Chow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

